660.429.2761   |   APPLY NOW!
  Contact Information
The American Legion Boys State of Missouri Logo
"It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience I'll never forget."

-- Dalton Hendren '12
Nevada, MO

Democracy in Action

The 2018 Missouri Boys State Awards ceremony was held in the University of Central Missouri Multipurpose Building on Saturday morning.

The countless accomplishments made throughout the week were formally recognized with an award ceremony, marking the end of a fantastic 79th session of Missouri Boys State.

Throughout the week, these high school juniors were given the opportunity to step out of their comfort zone and understand the impact they can have on themselves and the world around them. These leaders have made lifetime friends and memories, truly making Boys State A Week To Shape A Lifetime.

Citizen of the Week Scholarship
Winner: Austin Ashbaugh - Carnahan City, Kansas City, MO
Receives $10,000 Scholarship ($2,500 renewable for four years)

1st Alternate
Sabien Kent - Blair City, Lohman, MO
Receives $2,500 Scholarship

2nd Alternate
Jared Goudsmit - Gambrel City, Kirkwood, MO
Receives $1,500 Scholarship

Additional Alternates:
Michael Lee - Kohn City, Springfield, MO
Kevin Thomas - Lewis City, Chesterfield, MO
Jesse Wren - Pershing City, Pilot Knob, MO
Charles Collins - Weyer City, Jackson, MO
Andrew Storer - Whitfield City, Ballwin, MO
Receive $500 Scholarship each

Boys Nation Delegates
Wolfgang Schaefer - Clark City, Columbia, MO
Jesse Wren - Pershing City, Pilot Knob, MO

1st Alternate
Michael Lee - Kohn City, Springfield, MO

2nd Alternate
Abhishek Jain - Carver City, Maryland Heights, MO

Boys Nation will be held on the campus of Marymount
University in Arlington, VA, July 20-28, 2018.

Samsung American Legion State
Scholarship Winner and National Finalist

James Donovan - Clark City, Jefferson City, MO
Scholarship amount to be announced.

Charlie W. Mickey Scholarship Winner
Jack Weil - Duggan City, St. Joseph, MO
Receives $750 Scholarship

Harry S. Truman Model City Award
Weyer City

Jerry Litton Model County Award
Frank County (Boone City and Crowder City)

Athletics Competition
Carver City (1st Place)
Kohn City (2nd Place)
Crowder City (3rd Place)

2018 Staff Scholarship
Brandon Henderson
Akshay Srinivasan
Clay Landoll

2018 Governor's Cup Challenge Winner
The Amazing 2018 MBS Staff -- 79 years in a row!

Citizen of the Week

Citizen of the Week: Nick Ebert, Sabient Kent, Jared Goudsmit, Austin Ashbaugh, Elton Fay


Boys Nation Delegates and Alternates: Mike Stewart, Abhishek Jain, Jesse Wren, Wolfgang Schaefer, Michael Lee, and Steve Grand


Staff Scholarship

Staff Scholarship Winners: Clay Lindoll, Brandon Henderson, and Akshay Srinivasan


Governor's Cup: Adam McClellan and John Blesz accepting the 2018 Governor's Cup Trophy

Outstanding Awards
2018 Outstanding Awards Winners

Outstanding Lobbyist
Victor Arellano, Whitfield City


Outstanding Representative
McKinley Hopkins, Boone City

Outstanding Senator
Trent Oberlander, Boone City


Outstanding Legislative Staff
Jeff Marlowe, Ingle City

Outstanding State Executive Official
Lane Cargile, Whitfield City


Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer
Kaberon Burgess, Richarson City

Outstanding Fireman
Joseph Washington, Carnahan City


Outstanding Attorney
Jacob Knaebel, Lewis City

Outstanding Judge
Denzel Ransom, Pershing City


Outstanding Journalist
James Larson, Carnahan City

Outstanding City Clerk
Austin Small, Carver City


Outstanding Businessman
Brian Purkaple, Lewis City

Outstanding City Treasurer
Daniel Harper, Blair City


Outstanding Political Party Leader
Austin Ashbaugh, Carnahan City

Outstanding Oral Advocate
Samuel Cade, Boone City


Outstanding Business
Caled Boys, Cameron Stornello, & Austin Bolin, Pershing City




The American Legion Department of Missouri

[Home]  [Site Map]  [About Us]  [Contact]  [Apply Now!
[Online Store]  [Donate]  [Links]  [Press Releases]